Light/no wind training

Hi

I've just started helping out with training kids at my local sailing club. On a few sessions there has been really light and no wind. Any ideas on what I could get them doing to stop them getting getting bored, keep them interested which would be beneficial for their windsurfing?

The kids I've got at the moment are complete beginners from around 8 upwards.

thanks

Light wind freestyle. One thing they do at Club Vass in light wind which is quite good fun is a 'follow the leader' session. The instructor leads, & does various things like no-handed (assuming everyone can use a harness), kneeling/sitting down, foot drags, sail 360s, clew first, tacks & gybes etc. Everyone else follows & copies the moves (or falls in trying). Anything that teaches the muscle memory for rig handling & moving around the board is time well spent.
    Loose - the opposite of tight. Lose - the one that's pronounced 'looze'.

Or just hold a simple out and back regatta, short length for the light winds, maybe 200 feet. There will be enough close calls and crash's to make it entertaining.

Sup dude!
    Kids can spend hours playing last man standing just messing about on a floating board.
    gets them swimming, used to climbing on the board and balancing on the board.
    it makes the transition to sticking a windy rig on it so much easier.

Definitely SUP. If they do it properly it's great for fitness and core strength and if they want to just mess around then it's fun and will keep them amused for ages. I always have a SUP board on my car when the forecast is marginal, and if it turns out to be anything under 6-7 knots I go out on that rather than windsurf.