Error 404 | Boards | The UK's No.1 Windsurfing Magazine

Sorry...

Page Not Found

Please check to make sure the URL is correct, or contact us at support@boards.co.uk to let us know your issue, and we'll do our best to help.

Page 1 of 18 1 2 3 4 5 11 ... LastLast

New wide boards daggerboard or no - tips for newbies

Hello
    and thanks for reading
    I currently live and work in Japan ! So not your usual Devon wave rider I guess
    I have been surfing for over 25 years and have recently got interested in windsurfing
    the area where I live has flat sea water with mostly lighter winds
    I have been looking at second hand wide boards with a 5.5m sail

most of the local guys say that you don't really need a daggerboard which enlarges the options of purchasing a used board - although I would appreciate the advantage of a centre fin or daggerboard

I am 1.69m and 60-65 kgs depending on how many chips I eat each week, lol
    as far as used boards go - 70-80cms wide seems good. So when I see something like a Starboard Isonic 137 at 80cms wide (which is a speed slalom board) is that a big no no
    should I stick with my search to find a bic techno 160 or something very similar
    I am happy to practice / train very hard and stick close to the shore and only sail in onshore winds until I get better

I swim for about 40 minutes every week - in the sea - almost all year round, without a wettie
    I would appreciate your years of wisdom and experience as some used boards are really cheap, like a pound and others go for about 2000 gbp so I really am wondering which one's are worth investing in
    many thanks

Unless you have visions of racing a longboard, I'd suggest an oldish, cheapish wide board like the Techno.
    I'd also say try and get 2 sails around 5.5 and 7.0 as this will give twice as much (fun) time on the water.