Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

When to progress to a smaller board?

I've been windsurfing for just over three years now, I weigh 70kg and sail on flat water, usually in 8 to 15 knot winds on a 6 or 6.5m sail. I'm still a beginner, and whilst I can fast tack and gybe fine, I'm only just starting on using the harness and am planing occasionally. I can't waterstart yet, so am beachstarting and uphauling. My board is 145 litres (245 x 75cm I think) - when is the best time to go down to a smaller board? I'm starting to wonder if I'm missing out

Quote Originally Posted by BoredAtWork925 View Post
    I can't waterstart yet, so am beachstarting and uphauling ... when is the best time to go down to a smaller board? I'm starting to wonder if I'm missing out
    When you can waterstart. Make learning a priority. Spend the money that you would have spent on a new board on getting some tuition, ideally a clinic somewhere abroad with warm, windy, flat conditions. I learnt to waterstart in Vasselliki for instance, in my first week of windsurfing, because it's so easy there, with a gently shelving beach for about 100 meters, but then spent the next couple of years struggling on a poxy little gravel pit under the North circular, in Chigwell

ps and yes, you are missing out (by not being able to waterstart).
    -----------------------------
    Currently writing the World's first Windsurfing Novel: 'Too Close to the Wind' - watch this space!
    ps check out my musings from El Medano: Life on the Reef
    Boards: Quatro Supermini Thrusters: 94 & 85
    Sails: Severne Blades.

SB makes a good point about conditions to learn to waterstart somewhere gently shelving,

My view is there are a couple of answers to this question,
    Firstly, the 'need' to move onto a smaller board will come when you more comfortable using the harness and footstraps and are going out in conditions that make your current board difficult to handle because the size makes the ride too bouncy over chop/waves.